Wedding Bells

So I went to my first “friend wedding” this weekend.

I’ve been to weddings before, but not since I was young enough to think that marriage was lightyears away.

This is the first one I’ve been to from my high school graduating class. Plus, she’s been a close friend for a long time…

Which really put things into perspective for me.

I realized this weekend:

1. This is the first of many I’ll be attending in the near future.

2. Weddings make me extremely emotional

3. I will need to bring tissues to the next wedding

4. I don’t know how I’m going to make it through my own wedding. (waterproof mascara will be my best friend/hero that day.. besides the groom of course)

I’m a junior in college, so I’m not planning to get married any time soon (meaning in the next 4 to 5 years), but witnessing that ceremony made me think about how we’ve grown.

We’re adults now. (well, mostly..)

But I still feel the same as I did in high school. These 2 and a half years of college kind of blend together for me.. Is that normal? Is that when you know you’re not a kid anymore?

These are the questions I’ve been asking myself since I started college, and even more now that I’m not a teenager anymore.

Okay, I’ll get off my soap box… Just thought I’d share my quarter-life crisis with you.

Here are a few pictures I took at the wedding showing a brighter side of growing up and falling in love.

My friend Allysa and me before the wedding

IMG_0784

IMG_0785

IMG_0788

The first kiss as man and wife! What a moment. It’s certainly one that turns on the tears.

IMG_0790

And at the reception, the groom serenaded his new bride with a song that he wrote himself– which was adorable. And brought tears. Again.

IMG_0794  IMG_0795

It was such a lovely wedding. Hopefully I’ll get to experience it one day.. In a few years.

Until next post,

-Mallie

Leave a Reply

